Rebel in Spartanburg

cl-rebel-100An early-music sampler from the ensemble that gets its name from composer Jean-Féry Rebel, from a concert at Twitchell Auditorium on the campus of Converse College in Spartanburg, SC. In a show called Irregular Pearls, Rebel plays music by Vivaldi, Telemann, Corelli, plus others that aren't so familiar: Rossi, Bertali, Mealli, Mancini and Leclair.

Matthias Maute: recorder, flute
Jorg-Michael Schwarz: baroque violin
Karen Marie Marmer: baroque viola
John Moran: baroque cello
Dongsok Shin: harpsichord, organ
Listen to the entire program: Rebel in Spartanburg

Billboard and introduction to Vivaldi concerto - Lauren Rico

Antonio Vivaldi: Concerto in a minor for recorder, 2 violins and continuo

Introduction to Rossi and Bertali - Lauren Rico

Salamon Rossi: Sonata sopra l'aria di Ruggiero

Antonio Bertali: Chiacona

Introduction to Rossi and Mealli sonatas - Lauren Rico

Salamon Rossi: Sonata based on an aria Francese

Salamon Rossi: Sonata based on an aria Romanesca

Giovanni Pandolfi Mealli: Sonata La Bernabea

Introduction to Corelli sonata - Lauren Rico

Arcangelo Corelli: Sonata in b minor

Introduction to Telemann quartet - Lauren Rico

Georg Philipp Telemann: Quartet in G Major for traverso, 2 violins and continuo

Introduction to Mancini sonata - Lauren Rico

Francesco Mancini: Sonata Quinta in G major

Introduction to Leclair Chaconne - Lauren Rico

Jean-Marie Leclair: Chaconne in D Major, from Premiere Recreation de Musique

Introduction to Telemann Quartet/Concerto - Lauren Rico

Georg Philipp Telemann: Quartet/Concerto in a minor

Introduction to encore - Lauren Rico

Unidentified encore played by Rebel

Introduction to Fry Street Quartet's Beethoven - Lauren Rico

Ludwig van Beethoven: String Quartet in f minor, "Serioso"
Fry Street Quartet: William Fedkenheuer, Rebecca McFaul, violins;
Bradley Ottesen, viola; Anne Francis, cello

End of the show - Lauren Rico

Notice: Undefined variable: loadgallery in /home/classica/public_html/components/com_k2/templates/episode/item.php on line 380