SC Philharmonic + Chamber Charleston

Morohiko Nakahara, conductor

A program of highlights starts off the month on Carolina Live. From the South Carolina Philharmonic there’s a heaping helping of Mozart favorites, with a familiar curtain-raiser from “bicentennial boy” Verdi, and an offbeat offering from the 20th century mashing up Amadeus and Papa Haydn, all drawn from the first two Masterworks concerts of the 2013-2014 season. Then it’s over to Charleston for a chamber masterwork from Brahms which the ensemble performed earlier at Carnegie Hall in New York.



Listen to the entire program - SC Philharmonic + Chamber Charleston

Billboard and introduction to Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 21 in C - Lauren Rico

WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART - Piano Concerto No. 21 in C
South Carolina Philharmonic
Morohiko Nakahara, conductor
Dong Yeon Kim, guest pianist

Introduction to Schnittke's Moz-Art a la Haydn - Lauren Rico

ALFRED SCHNITTKE - Moz-Art a la Haydn 
South Carolina Philharmonic 
Morohiko Nakahara, conductor

Introduction to Mozart’s Symphony No. 39 in E-flat - Lauren Rico


WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART - Symphony No. 39 in E-flat 
South Carolina Philharmonic 
Morohiko Nakahara, conductor

Break and introduction to Brahms' Piano Quintet in F minor - Lauren Rico and Mike McKay


JOHANNES BRAHMS - Piano Quintet in F minor 
Chamber Music Charleston 
Frances Hsieh & Nonoko Okada, violinists 
Ben Weiss, violist 
Timothy O’Malley, cellist 
Andrew Armstrong, pianist

End of the show - Lauren Rico and Mike McKay


Notice: Undefined variable: loadgallery in /home/classica/public_html/components/com_k2/templates/episode/item.php on line 380