South Carolina Philharmonic: Ode to Joy

South Carolina Philharmonic

The fall season of Carolina Live gets underway in grand fashion with a program from the South Carolina Philharmonic Masterworks series. Opening the concert is a violin concerto premiered just a few months before this April, 2012 concert. Edward Hart's "Love letter to South Carolina" was written for the concertmaster of the Charleston Symphony, Yuriy Bekker, who performs it in this concert, too. The program concludes with vocal soloists and two choruses joining the orchestra and conductor Morihiko Nakahara for Beethoven's masterful final symphony.

Listen in pop-up player Listen to selections in a pop-up player

Listen to the entire program: South Carolina Philharmonic: Ode to Joy

Billboard and introduction to Under an Indigo Sky - Lauren Rico

EDWARD HART: Under an Indigo Sky
Yuriy Bekker, violin
South Carolina Philharmonic
Morihiko Nakahara, conductor

Introduction to Beethoven's 9th Symphony - Lauren Rico and Mike McKay

LUDWIG Van BEETHOVEN: Symphony no. 9
Janet Hopkins, mezzo-soprano
Amber Opheim, soprano
Daniel Stein, tenor
David Templeton, baritone
South Carolina Philharmonic
Columbia Choral Society
Coker College Singers
Morihiko Nakahara, conductor

Introduction to Brahms' Piano Quartet - Lauren Rico

JOHANNES BRAHMS: Piano Quartet in g minor
Broyhill Chamber Ensemble

End of the Show - Lauren Rico and Mike McKay

Notice: Undefined variable: loadgallery in /home/classica/public_html/components/com_k2/templates/episode/item.php on line 380
back to top